P&F Sports Dinner

Sports Award Dinner 2016

On Tuesday 29 November we celebrated the achievements of our athletes at the annual Sports Dinner. It was a night to celebrate participation, excellence, friendship and enjoyment. The special guest speaker was Olympian Eloise Wellings who shared with the students her Olympic story and how she overcame multiple stress fractures and an eating disorder to eventually represent Australia.

This year a new award was introduced, the Professor Joan Beck Service to Sport Award. MLC Old Girl Joan Beck’s (1935) love of sport was evident from a young age. She trained in Fencing in state and national teams and prepared participants for every Empire and Commonwealth Games for over 20 years. In 1976 she was awarded a British Empire Medal for Service to Sport. Joan pursued her passions in life while embracing those around her with generosity, humour and love. Her motto in life was “If it wasn't fun, it wasn't worth doing”, and with that in mind everything she undertook she did with inexhaustible energy and dedication.

The Professor Joan Beck Service to Sport Award is for students who have not only participated in sport for MLC School, but have gone above and beyond by selflessly giving their time, playing extra games on Saturdays so teams are not left short on numbers, developing a positive sporting culture and school spirit. They foster enthusiasm and enjoyment of physical activity within the school community and are encouraging, generous and outstanding role models.

Congratulations to this year's recipients, Nicola Yarrow (Year 10) and Nina Frissel-Thomas (Year 12).

Thelma Coyne Long Award
Thelma Coyne Long was an MLC School Tennis Coach throughout the 1960s and 1970s. She enjoyed an illustrious 22-year career during which she won 19 major titles and was especially successful in doubles with a record of 12 Australian doubles titles. In 2013, she achieved the sport’s highest honour when she was inducted into the International Tennis Hall of Fame. She was the oldest Australian women’s singles and doubles champion and remains the only player (man or woman) to have won 12 Australian doubles titles.

The Thelma Coyne Long Award honours an MLC School athlete who demonstrates excellence, fair play, integrity and ethics in sport and this year was presented to Lauren McLean (Year 12). Congratulations.

We recognised our Australian Representatives, House Captains and newly elected Captains of each sport. The recipients of the awards are listed below:

Junior Team of the Year ­­­– IPSHA 4 x 50m Freestyle Relay Team of Lucy Lee (Year 5), Caitlin Zeilinga (Year 5), Annaliese Yan (Year 3) and Christine Jin (Year 3)

Senior Team of the Year – Year 8 Coxed Quadruple Scull. Ella Woolbank (Year 9), Ava Heine (Year 9), Lily Smith (Year 9), Samantha Naayen (Year 9) and coxed by Madeleine Aitken (Year 10)

Year 12 House Captains
Abbeythorpe – Eloise Smith
Booralee – Julia Tanevski
Churunga – Nina Frissel-Thomas
Leawarra – Isabella Seales
Lester – Kayla Tanevski
Mooramoora – Felicia Ventouris
Prescott – Stephanie Dimovski
Sutton – Elena Viatos
Wade – Alice Patterson
Whitley – Lauren McLean

Sports Captains
Athletics – Navini Fernando (Year 12)
Badminton – Rosa Wang (Year 11)
Basketball and Cross Country – Kayla Tanevski (Year 12)
Diving and Snow Sports – Jessica Kuo (Year 10)
Fencing – Erin Bofinger (Year 11)
Football and Rowing – Lauren McLean (Year 12)
Artistic Gymnastics – Zoe Cross (Year 11)
Rhythmic Gymnastics – Tara Wilkie (Year 12)
Hockey – Elizabeth Hewish (Year 12)
Netball – Annika Pienaar (Year 12)
Softball and Touch Football – Emerald Bui (Year 12)
Swimming – Sarah Wellfare (Year 12)
Tennis – April Guest (Year 12)
Volleyball – Jennifer Tang (Year 11)
Water Polo – Lilian Hunt (Year 12)

Individual Sports Awards
These students are recognised for their participation, commitment, talents and achievements in a particular sport. Students must have represented MLC School in 2016 in a sport offered by the school’s sporting program.

Athletics – Morgan Kelaher (Year 9)
Badminton – Isha Gupta (Year 12, 2016)
Basketball – MacKenzie McCowan (Year 11)
Cross Country – Zoe Scoufis (Year 10)
Diving – Ava Lee (Year 8)
Fencing – Erin Bofinger (Year 11)
Football – Georgia Pollitt (Year 11)
Gymnastics – Tara Wilkie (Year 12)
Hockey – Rebecca Janes (Year 12)
Netball – Lauren McLean (Year 12)
Rowing – Emily Osborne (Year 10)
Snow Sports – Zoe Latham (Year 12)
Softball – Jasmine Todoroska (Year 12)
Swimming – Bianca Walton (Year 8)
Tennis – Nicole Miloucheva (Year 11)
Touch Football – Anastasia Rimagmos (Year 12, 2016)
Volleyball – Yu Bai (Year 12, 2016)
Water Polo – Lilian Hunt (Year 12)

Professor Joan Beck Service to Sport Award
Nicola Yarrow (Year 10)
Nina Frissel-Thomas (Year 12)

Recognition of Australian Representatives
Ella Beere (Year 12, 2016) – Kayaking
Tara Wilkie (Year 12) – Rhythmic Gymnastics
Beatrice Hay (Year 12, 2016) – Fencing
Natalie Lin (Year 11) – Acrobatic Gymnastics
Chloe Gentle (Year 10) – Surf Life Saving

Overall Junior Athlete of the Year
Lucy Lee (Year 5)

Overall Senior Athlete of the Year
Ella Beere (Year 12, 2016)

Congratulations to all our award recipients for your achievements in sport this year.